2019 AABB Hall of Fame, President Elect & Awards



Beth H. Shaz, MD
Chief Medical and Scientific Officer
Executive Vice President
New York Blood Center
AABB President-Elect

NBF Grant Year: 2008
NBF Research Project Title: “Blood Donation Considerations in African Americans.
NBF Grant Led To: An improved understanding of blood donation rates, deferral rates, motivators and barriers in African American versus white individuals.

2019 John Elliott Memorial Award



Jed B. Gorlin, MD, MBA
Vice President, Medical and Quality
Innovative Blood Services
Transfusion Service Medical Director
HCMC and Children’s Hospitals and Clinics, Minnesota
Medical Director, Community Blood Center of Greater Kansas City
St. Paul, MN

Dr. Gorlin has dedicated himself to advancing AABB’s mission through his distinguished service on the AABB Board of Directors from 2006-2010, and his current responsibilities on several AABB committees, including as chair of the Global Standards Committee, the Donor Hemoglobin Eligibilty Task Force and the International Variance to Standards Committee. Dr. Gorlin has been and continues to be a leader in global transfusion medicine.

2019 Early-Career Scientific Research Grant



Francesca Vinchi PhD
Head, Iron Research Program
Assistant Member, Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute

Dr. Vinchi’s research entitled “Role of Heme-Activated Macrophages in Acute Chest Syndrome” with the goal to identify novel treatments for this life-threatening complication that affects 30-50% of patients with sickle cell disease.

2019 Karl Landsteiner Memorial Award and Lectureship



Colvin M. Redman, PhD
Senior Investigator (Retired)
Lindsley F. Kimball Research Institute

Dr. Redman, who retired from NYBC, is one of the Landsteiner Award Recipients for the work he did here at NYBC.